County Intro

Henrico County was formed in 1634. It was one of the eight original Shires. Goochland County was split off in 1728; and Chesterfield County was split off in 1749. Goochland Coounty later spawned Albemarle, Amherst, Nelson, Buckingham, Appomattox, Fluvanna, Cumberland and Powhatan Counties.

Parish Intro

The original parish for Henrico County was Henrico Parish. It was later known as Varina Parish from 1680-1714. Many early parishes have included Henrico County within their territory. These include Bristol Parish 1643-1735, Varina Parish 1680-1714, King William Parish 1700-1749, Dale Parish 1735-1749 and St. James Parish 1720-1728.

Abstracts and Charts

Deed Abstracts